Warp and Woof (9.7.2012)

Interesting week here in USA with political conventions wrapping up, start of NFL, and Labor Day…but I am not going to talk about any of that!

Can hope be wrong? – Even our hopes not just dreams for this world, career aspirations, etc. but our eternal desires need to be disciplined by scripture. Good thoughts as James K.A. Smith makes an important argument against the new universalism.

Reading and Writing – As a PhD student a large portion of my time is spent on one these two activities. These articles on remind me that the goal of writing is to get done (at least with a thesis!) but the goal of reading is to gain understanding. Write fast, read slow…all to often I get these backwards.

While we are on reading – It is OK, I promise!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

How do you Sabbath as Biblical Scholar? – After talking about Labor Day on Monday and the difference between time out and time away, I started to think about my own patterns. Question kept popping up, “How do you get away when job is to study the Bible?” The thoughts are still forming in my mind, and will probably blog about it in coming weeks, but for time being these two articles by B.B. Warfield and Carl Trueman offer good start.

And finally, God lead me to awe this weekend. Do not let my familiarity with you and your Word rob me of the ability to gape in wonder at your works and your Word.

Let all the earth fear the Lord; Let all the inhabitants of the world stand in awe of him! For he spoke, and ti came to be; he commanded, and it stood firm. (Psalm 33:8-9)

 

 

 

Join the conversation...